The cash vs financing decision is one of the most consequential choices a California homeowner makes when going solar, and it is almost never explained correctly. Most installers present financing as a neutral option that simply spreads the cost over time. It is not. Depending on the loan structure, interest rate, and dealer fee, a financed solar system can cost you $8,000 to $15,000 more than a cash purchase over 20 years. In some cases it costs more in total payments than simply continuing to pay your SCE bill.
This guide covers every payment method available to California homeowners in 2026: cash purchase, solar-specific loans, HELOCs, solar leases, and Power Purchase Agreements. For each option, we calculate the real net cost, the actual payback timeline, and the 25-year cumulative savings. We also cover how the federal tax credit changed for 2026 purchases and how California-specific factors like NEM 3.0 and the SGIP battery incentive should influence your decision.
The numbers in this guide are based on current Temecula and Inland Empire market conditions. A typical 10kW solar system in this market costs $25,000 to $40,000 before incentives. We will use a $30,000 base case for our sample calculations throughout, which reflects a well-priced mid-range quote for a quality 10kW system with microinverters.
Why the Cash vs Financing Decision Matters for California Homeowners
California has the most mature residential solar market in the country, which means homeowners here have access to more financing products than anywhere else. That variety is a feature, but it is also a trap. More options means more opportunity for a poorly structured deal to appear attractive on paper while quietly costing you significantly more money over the life of the system.
The financing decision also interacts directly with California's net metering rules. Under NEM 3.0 (the tariff that applies to all new solar installations in California since April 2023), export credits are roughly 75% lower than they were under NEM 2.0. Lower export credits mean lower annual savings, and lower annual savings make the cost of financing a larger percentage of your total return. A system that earns $3,800 per year in savings under NEM 2.0 and carries $1,800 in annual loan interest is still cash-flow-positive by $2,000. A system earning $2,400 per year in savings under NEM 3.0 with the same $1,800 in annual loan interest is cash-flow-positive by only $600 -- less than $50 per month in net benefit.
Your decision on how to pay should account for: your available liquidity, your opportunity cost for that capital, your credit score, how long you plan to own the home, whether you are purchasing or leasing (only a lease or PPA still carries federal credit value in 2026), and whether your system is solar-only or solar plus battery. Each of these variables shifts which option produces the best outcome for your specific situation.
Key Financing Options at a Glance
Paying Cash for Solar: Full Cost Breakdown
A cash purchase is the simplest and most financially efficient way to go solar. You pay the full system cost upfront and you own the equipment from day one. There are no interest charges, no dealer fees, no monthly loan payments, and no lender to deal with if you decide to sell your home. A system purchased in 2026 does not qualify for a federal tax credit; the residential Section 25D credit ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025.
The average residential solar system in the Temecula and Inland Empire market ranges from $25,000 for a 7kW to 8kW system to $45,000 for a 12kW to 14kW system with battery storage. A quality 10kW system with microinverters and a good panel brand -- the right size for a home using 13,000 to 16,000 kWh per year -- typically runs $28,000 to $35,000 before incentives.
Cash Purchase Cost Breakdown: $30,000 System Example
| Gross system cost (10kW, microinverters, quality panels) | $30,000 |
| Federal tax credit for a 2026 purchase | $0 (25D ended 12/31/2025) |
| California SGIP battery rebate (if battery added) | -$0 to -$3,000 |
| Net cost (solar only) | $30,000 |
| Ongoing cost (maintenance, monitoring) | ~$100 to $200/yr |
| SCE minimum customer charge remaining | ~$120 to $180/yr |
What the cash purchase does not include: any future inverter replacement (inverters typically last 10 to 15 years; a replacement microinverter system or string inverter runs $1,500 to $3,500), roof maintenance costs, and any NEM interconnection fees from SCE (currently a one-time $145 to $200 application fee). A realistic lifetime ownership cost model includes these expenses, and they are still dwarfed by the electricity savings the system produces.
The cash buyer's equation is clean: pay $30,000, own the system outright, and every dollar it saves on electricity goes directly to shortening the payback period and building long-term return. There is no lender, no monthly payment, no dealer fee, no federal tax credit, and no dependency on your credit score to make the numbers work.
Cash Purchase ROI: Break-Even Timeline and 25-Year Savings Projection
For a cash buyer in Temecula with a $30,000 system and a $30,000 net cost (no federal credit applies to a 2026 purchase), the payback period depends primarily on annual electricity savings and which NEM tariff applies. Using current SCE rates and NEM 3.0 (which applies to all new installations), a 10kW system that covers 90% of a home's electricity usage produces approximately $2,200 to $3,000 in annual savings in Year 1.
Cash Purchase: 25-Year Financial Projection ($30,000 System)
| Metric | NEM 2.0 (grandfathered) | NEM 3.0 (new installation) |
|---|---|---|
| Net cost (no federal credit for a 2026 purchase) | $30,000 | $30,000 |
| Year 1 annual savings | $3,600 | $2,500 |
| Simple payback period | 8.3 years | 12.0 years |
| Cumulative 25-yr savings (4% escalation) | ~$132,000 | ~$92,000 |
| 25-yr net profit (savings minus net cost) | ~$102,000 | ~$62,000 |
The home value premium adds another layer to the cash purchase return. A Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory study found California buyers pay approximately $4 per watt for owned solar, which on a 10kW system adds roughly $40,000 to home resale value. This premium is not counted in the savings figures above; it is a separate capital gain realized at sale. When you include it, the effective total return on a $30,000 net-cost cash investment can reach $135,000 to $155,000 over the ownership period for NEM 2.0 customers.
For more detail on the payback calculation methodology, see our full guide on solar payback periods in California.
Solar Loans: How They Work, Interest Rates, and Loan Terms
Solar-specific loans are the most common financing option in the California residential market. They are offered through specialized lenders -- Mosaic, GoodLeap, Sunrun Credit, Dividend Finance, and others -- and are marketed through installers as part of their sales process. Many still carry a 17 to 18 month promotional window with reduced payments, a structure originally designed around applying an ITC refund to the balance. For a system purchased in 2026, there is no federal tax credit to apply, so the loan simply resets to reflect the full original principal once that window ends.
Interest rates for solar loans in California in 2026 range from approximately 5.99% to 12.99% APR. The rate you receive depends on your credit score, the loan term, and the lender. Here is a general mapping:
Solar Loan Rate Guide by Credit Score (2026)
| Credit Score | Typical APR Range | Best Loan Term |
|---|---|---|
| 760+ | 5.99% to 7.99% | 10 to 15 years |
| 720 to 759 | 7.49% to 9.49% | 15 years |
| 680 to 719 | 9.00% to 11.49% | 15 to 20 years |
| 640 to 679 | 10.99% to 12.99% | 20 years |
| Below 640 | Likely declined or very high rate | Consider lease or PPA |
Loan terms run 10, 15, and 20 years. A 10-year term at a lower rate produces higher monthly payments but lower total interest cost and a shorter payback period than a 20-year term at the same rate. The right term depends on what monthly payment amount keeps you cash-flow-positive after accounting for your loan payment versus your SCE savings. On a $30,000 system financed at 7.99% over 15 years, your monthly payment is approximately $285. If your pre-solar SCE bill was $350 per month, you are cash-flow-positive from day one.
The catch that most installers don't volunteer: dealer fees. We cover these in detail in the section on financing traps below, but the short version is this -- the loan you sign for $30,000 may actually be a loan for $37,500, with $7,500 added to the principal as a lender origination fee charged through the installer. Ask for the loan principal, not the system price, before you sign.
Zero-Down Solar Loans: Pros, Cons, and What "Zero-Down" Actually Means
"Zero down" is one of the most common phrases in solar advertising, and it requires careful unpacking. Zero-down means you pay nothing out of pocket at the time of installation. The system is installed, and you begin making loan payments on a schedule. It does not mean the system is free or that there are no long-term costs.
What zero-down actually means in practice: the lender or installer absorbs the upfront cost and you repay it over 10 to 20 years with interest. Some structures still offer an 18-month promotional period with reduced or interest-only payments, a design left over from the years when that period was timed to an ITC refund. A system purchased in 2026 does not qualify for that credit, so there is no refund to apply, and the loan simply resets to a payment based on the full original principal once the promotional period ends. Read the terms carefully so the step-up does not surprise you.
Pros of Zero-Down Solar Loans
- No upfront capital required -- system installs immediately
- You own the equipment and build home equity value
- Monthly payment often approximates or is less than your current SCE bill
- System value adds to home equity (unlike a lease)
- Fixed interest rate protects against SCE rate increases
Cons of Zero-Down Solar Loans
- Total cost is higher than cash due to interest and dealer fees
- Dealer fees (15% to 30%) inflate your loan principal invisibly
- No federal tax credit exists in 2026 to offset any of the balance
- Loan appears on your credit report and affects debt-to-income ratio
- Prepayment penalties may apply if you want to pay off early
- Home sale complications if loan balance exceeds equity at time of sale
The bottom line on zero-down loans: they make solar accessible to homeowners who cannot write a $30,000 check, and they produce real savings when structured correctly. The risks are in the details of the loan agreement, not the concept itself. Always request the full loan disclosure document before signing, and compare the total loan cost (principal plus interest over the full term) against the projected 20-year savings before deciding.
HELOC for Solar: Rates, Tax Deductibility, and Risk Factors
A Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) is an underused solar financing option that often beats solar-specific loans on total cost. California homeowners with significant home equity can borrow against it at rates that typically run 1 to 2 percentage points lower than solar loan APRs, with no dealer fee because the lender is your bank or credit union rather than a solar industry intermediary.
HELOC rates in 2026 are tied to the prime rate, currently running at approximately 7.5% to 9.5% for home improvement uses depending on your credit score and loan-to-value ratio. A well-qualified Temecula homeowner with a 780 credit score and 40% equity in a home worth $650,000 might access a HELOC at prime plus 0.5%, which at current prime rates translates to approximately 8% to 8.5% APR.
HELOC vs Solar Loan: $30,000 System, 15-Year Term
| Factor | HELOC at 8.5% | Solar Loan at 8.5% + 25% Dealer Fee |
|---|---|---|
| Loan principal | $30,000 | $37,500 |
| Federal tax credit (2026 purchase) | $0 | $0 |
| Balance financed (no credit reduction) | $30,000 | $37,500 |
| Total interest over 15 years | ~$23,200 | ~$29,000 |
| Total lifetime cost | $53,200 | $66,500 |
| Interest potentially tax-deductible | Yes (home improvement) | No |
The tax deductibility of HELOC interest is a significant advantage for homeowners who itemize. Under current IRS guidance, interest on a HELOC used to substantially improve your home is deductible up to $750,000 in total home loan debt (combined mortgage and HELOC). Solar installation qualifies as a substantial improvement. At a 24% federal tax rate, deducting $2,500 in annual HELOC interest saves $600 per year in federal taxes, effectively reducing your net cost of financing further.
The risk factor with a HELOC is that your home is the collateral. A solar-specific loan is an unsecured debt in most cases; defaulting is damaging to your credit but does not put your home at risk. Defaulting on a HELOC can result in foreclosure. This is a real risk for homeowners who are stretching their cash flow. The HELOC is the right tool for homeowners with stable income and conservative debt-to-income ratios, not for anyone already running tight on monthly obligations.
A second risk: HELOCs are typically variable-rate instruments. If interest rates rise significantly from current levels, your HELOC payment can increase. Some lenders offer fixed-rate HELOC conversions; ask about this option if rate stability matters to your budgeting.
Solar Lease vs PPA: Not Ownership, Credit Score Implications, and Long-Term Tradeoffs
A solar lease and a Power Purchase Agreement are fundamentally different from every option discussed so far because neither involves you owning the solar equipment. In a lease, you pay a fixed monthly fee to use the system. In a PPA, you pay a per-kilowatt-hour rate for the electricity the system produces. The solar company owns the equipment, claims the 30% ITC, and is responsible for maintenance.
From a credit perspective, leases and PPAs can be easier to qualify for than loans because they are structured as service agreements rather than debt instruments. Some leases and PPAs require no credit check or have a lower threshold than solar loans. However, they do appear in public records and in some cases are flagged by mortgage underwriters as contingent liabilities when you apply for a refinance or home equity product.
The financial tradeoff is significant. A lease or PPA customer gives up the home value premium on owned solar (worth roughly $40,000 on a 10kW system based on Lawrence Berkeley research) and commits to 20 to 25 years of payments to the solar company, in exchange for the company's federal credit being reflected in the rate rather than a purchase that, in 2026, receives no credit at all. Over a 25-year period, a lease customer typically pays $20,000 to $40,000 in cumulative lease payments while saving $30,000 to $60,000 in electricity costs, for a net gain that is meaningfully lower than what a cash or loan buyer achieves.
When a Lease or PPA Makes Sense
- You cannot qualify for a loan due to credit score below 640
- You want the value of the federal credit reflected in your rate, since a 2026 purchase gets none
- You want immediate positive cash flow with zero upfront cost and no installation risk
- You plan to sell within 5 years and want to offer solar as a home feature without the complexity of a loan assumption
One critical item for homeowners considering a lease or PPA who also plan to sell: the agreement must transfer to the buyer. Buyers can refuse to assume the agreement, which can kill or delay a sale. Some markets, particularly Temecula and the Inland Empire, have seen buyers walk from deals or demand price concessions to account for assuming a solar lease. If you might sell within 5 to 7 years, this is a meaningful risk.
The Federal Tax Credit in 2026: Why It No Longer Applies to Cash or Loan Buyers
The federal tax credit used to be the most powerful solar incentive available to California homeowners. Understanding how it changed is now critical to making the right financing decision.
The residential 30% tax credit under Section 25D ended for systems and batteries purchased after December 31, 2025, under the One Big Beautiful Bill Act signed July 4, 2025. A cash or loan buyer who purchases a system or a battery in 2026, whether new or added to an existing system, receives no federal tax credit at all. The credit only continues in the value passed through to homeowners who choose a lease or PPA, where the solar company, not the homeowner, claims the Section 48E commercial credit.
Cash Buyer in 2026
You install the system in 2026 and pay the full $30,000 out of pocket. There is no federal tax credit to claim on your return. Your net cost is the full purchase price, and every dollar of electricity savings from day one goes directly toward your return.
Loan Buyer in 2026
You install the system in 2026 with a zero-down solar loan. Older loan products were built around a 17-month window to apply an ITC refund to the balance; that refund no longer exists for a 2026 purchase, so your balance and payment stay at the full original principal for the entire loan term. Confirm with your lender exactly what your payment becomes once any promotional period ends.
Lease or PPA: Credit Value Passed Through the Rate
You do not own the equipment, so you cannot claim a federal tax credit directly. The solar company can still claim the Section 48E credit, for systems placed in service by December 31, 2027 on projects that begin construction after July 4, 2026, and reflects some of that value in your lease or PPA rate. This is the only route in 2026 where the federal credit still factors into your solar economics.
One frequently misunderstood point: this is not a delay or a phase-down, it is a hard end date. A system placed in service in 2025 could still claim the 30% credit and carry forward any unused amount across future tax years. A system purchased in 2026 cannot claim any federal tax credit at all, regardless of your tax liability.
California-Specific Incentives: SGIP Battery Rebate and NEM 3.0 Impact on Your Financing Decision
California homeowners have access to incentives beyond the federal ITC that can materially change the financing math. The two most important are the Self-Generation Incentive Program (SGIP) battery rebate and the NEM 3.0 tariff structure, which influences how much your system earns annually and therefore which financing option makes the best sense.
The SGIP battery rebate provides up to $1,000 per kilowatt-hour (kWh) of battery storage capacity for California residents who meet certain income qualifications, or $200 to $500 per kWh for general residential applicants in eligible utility territories. A 13.5kWh Powerwall could qualify for up to $2,700 in SGIP rebates at the standard tier, or up to $13,500 for an equity-eligible applicant. SGIP funding is distributed through program steps and the current step determines the rebate level; check the California Public Utilities Commission website for current availability.
How SGIP interacts with your financing decision: the battery rebate reduces your effective system cost in the same way the ITC does, but it comes as a direct payment from the utility (via the SGIP program) rather than a tax credit. For financed buyers, SGIP funds received post-installation can also be applied to the loan balance, further reducing principal. For cash buyers, it is a direct reduction in net cost. For lease or PPA customers, the solar company typically receives the SGIP rebate, not the homeowner.
NEM 3.0 impacts the financing decision in a specific way: because export credits are significantly lower under NEM 3.0 than they were under NEM 2.0, the annual savings a financed system produces are lower, making loan carrying costs a larger share of your net benefit. This is the strongest argument for either going cash or adding battery storage (which increases self-consumption and therefore annual savings) when installing under NEM 3.0.
NEM 3.0 Financing Logic
Annual savings (NEM 3.0, 10kW, 90% self-consumption): ~$2,500
Monthly savings: ~$208
Loan payment at 8% over 15 years, $30,000 principal: ~$287/mo
Net monthly cash flow: -$79 (loan costs more than savings)
With a 25% dealer fee, principal rises to $37,500: payment increases to ~$358/mo
Net monthly cash flow: -$150 (further negative, no credit to offset it)
Note: without a federal tax credit to reduce the balance in 2026, financing this NEM 3.0 example runs cash-flow negative. Cash purchase avoids interest and dealer fees entirely but requires the full $30,000 upfront.
When Cash Makes Sense: High Liquidity, Long Ownership, and No Better Use for the Capital
A cash purchase makes the most financial sense when several conditions align: you have the liquidity available without creating financial strain, you have no higher-return use for the capital in the near term, you plan to own the home for at least 8 to 10 years, and you have accepted that a 2026 purchase carries no federal tax credit.
Your capital has no better use in the near term
Since a 2026 purchase carries no federal tax credit, the entire return comes from electricity savings and home value. If your cash would otherwise sit in a low-yield account, a system saving $2,200 to $3,000 a year against a $30,000 net cost outperforms it; if you have a higher-return alternative, weigh that against the full, uncredited purchase price.
You plan to own the home for 10 or more years
The longer your ownership horizon, the more cumulative savings you capture and the more the home value premium works in your favor. Cash buyers who sell within 4 years may not fully recover the full $30,000 investment, depending on market conditions.
You have other investments earning modest returns
A solar cash purchase's return depends on your NEM tariff and annual savings; compare your expected payback and 25-year savings (see the projection above) against what idle cash earns in savings accounts, CDs, or low-return bond funds. If your cash is in equities averaging 10%+ annually, the calculus changes.
You want the simplest possible financial structure
Cash eliminates all lender relationships, loan agreements, monthly payments, and the risk of financing-related complications at home sale. For homeowners who value simplicity and have the means to pay cash, the certainty of no debt has real value beyond the pure financial return.
When Financing Makes Sense: Liquidity Preservation
Financing is the right choice when you want solar's benefits without deploying a large capital sum, when you have better uses for that capital in the near term, or when the monthly loan payment is low enough that positive cash flow from day one is achievable after accounting for your electricity savings.
The ITC leverage argument that used to apply to financing no longer exists for a 2026 purchase: there is no federal tax credit to refund or apply to your loan balance. Your principal, dealer fee included, stays at the full financed amount for the entire loan term. Financing still makes sense on cash-flow grounds alone when the monthly payment is comfortably below your current SCE bill, but it no longer carries the added benefit of a mid-loan credit paydown.
Financing also makes sense when the alternative is not "invest the $30,000 in the market" but "continue paying SCE $400 per month." In that scenario, the opportunity cost of waiting is $400 per month compounding against you, and a loan that produces immediate positive cash flow eliminates that cost starting in Month 1.
Financing Makes Sense When:
- Your loan payment is less than your current SCE bill (positive cash flow from Month 1)
- You have high-return investments or urgent capital needs that make cash deployment costly
- Your credit score qualifies you for a rate below 8% with a dealer fee under 20%
- You are financing the full, uncredited principal and the payment still keeps you cash-flow-positive
- Your SCE bill is high enough ($300+/mo) that savings comfortably exceed loan payments
The Break-Even Math: Sample Calculations for a $30,000 System
Let us run the full break-even calculation for a $30,000 solar system across three payment scenarios: cash, well-structured loan, and poorly-structured loan with a high dealer fee. This is the analysis every homeowner should demand before signing any agreement.
Break-Even Comparison: $30,000 System, NEM 3.0, $2,500 Year-1 Savings
| Scenario | Cash Purchase | Loan (Good Terms) | Loan (High Dealer Fee) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gross system cost | $30,000 | $30,000 | $30,000 |
| Dealer fee | $0 | $3,000 (10%) | $9,000 (30%) |
| Loan principal | n/a | $33,000 | $39,000 |
| Federal tax credit (2026 purchase) | $0 (25D ended 2025) | $0 | $0 |
| Net cost (no federal credit) | $30,000 | $33,000 | $39,000 |
| APR (15-year term) | 0% | 7.99% | 5.99% (low rate, high fee) |
| Total interest paid | $0 | ~$23,700 | ~$20,200 |
| Total effective cost | $30,000 | $56,700 | $59,200 |
| Simple payback period | 12.0 years | 22.7 years | 23.7 years |
| 25-yr net savings minus all costs | ~$62,000 | ~$35,300 | ~$32,800 |
Calculations assume $2,500 Year-1 savings under NEM 3.0, 4% annual SCE rate escalation, 0.5% panel degradation per year, and $30,000 gross system price. Loan comparison uses actual total payment schedules, not promotional rates. No federal tax credit applies to this 2026 purchase scenario; the residential credit ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025. All figures are illustrative; your actual numbers will vary based on your system, NEM status, and local SCE rate.
Questions to Ask Before Signing Any Solar Financing Agreement
The quality of a solar financing agreement is almost entirely in the details that are not advertised. The monthly payment number in the headline is designed to be appealing. The questions below reveal what is actually inside the agreement.
What is the loan principal, not the system price?
If the installer says "$30,000 system" but the loan disclosure shows a $37,500 principal, you have a 25% dealer fee. This is the most important number to extract before signing. Do not accept "the loan is for the system cost" as an answer; ask for the actual loan agreement document showing the principal.
What dealer fee percentage is the lender charging?
Installers are often reluctant to disclose dealer fees because they know the comparison is unfavorable to their product. Ask directly: "What is the dealer fee as a percentage of the system cost?" If they cannot answer or deflect, consider it a red flag.
Is there a prepayment penalty if I pay off the loan early?
Some solar loans include prepayment penalties that trigger if you pay off the balance early. If you plan to refinance your home or sell within 5 to 7 years, a prepayment penalty can add thousands in unexpected costs.
What happens to my payment after any promotional low-payment period ends?
Some solar loans still offer a 12 to 18 month period with reduced or interest-only payments. In the past this period was timed to an ITC refund; a system purchased in 2026 gets no federal tax credit, so there is no refund to apply, and your payment resets to reflect the full original principal. Confirm the post-promotional payment amount in writing before signing.
Does this lien appear on my home title?
PACE and HERO financing (discussed below) are recorded as tax liens on your property. Conventional solar loans typically do not affect your title. Confirm in writing which type of lien, if any, will appear on your property record before signing.
What is the process if I want to sell the home before the loan is paid off?
Most solar loans require payoff at home sale. Confirm the payoff process, whether there is a prepayment fee in a sale scenario, and whether the lender has experience working with real estate transactions. Delayed loan payoffs have caused sale closings to fall through.
Common Financing Traps: Dealer Fees, Prepayment Penalties, and HERO Liens
California has seen more solar financing disputes than any other state, in large part because the market's size and growth rate created conditions where some loan products were marketed aggressively without full disclosure of their costs. Here are the most common traps to avoid.
Trap 1: Undisclosed Dealer Fees
Dealer fees are the single most common source of solar financing complaints in California. They are legitimate business costs (lenders charge them to installers, who pass them to buyers), but they are frequently not disclosed proactively. On a $30,000 system with a 25% dealer fee, you are financing $37,500, not $30,000. The monthly payment on $37,500 at 7% over 15 years is $337, versus $270 for $30,000 at the same rate. Over 15 years, that is $12,060 in additional payments.
How to avoid it: request the Truth-in-Lending Act (TILA) disclosure document, which legally must show the APR, finance charge, and total of all payments. Compare total payments to the system quote.
Trap 2: Prepayment Penalties
Some solar loans charge a prepayment penalty if you pay off the loan before its scheduled term, including when you sell your home or refinance. Penalties can range from 1% to 5% of the remaining balance. On a $25,000 remaining balance, a 3% penalty is $750 triggered at the worst possible moment (the middle of a home sale closing).
How to avoid it: read Section 5 of any loan agreement, titled "Prepayment." If a prepayment fee exists, ask the installer to offer an alternative lender product without one, or negotiate for its removal.
Trap 3: PACE and HERO Financing Liens
Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) financing, offered through programs like the former HERO program, is repaid through your property tax bill. This means it is recorded as a tax lien on your home, sits senior to your mortgage, and must be paid off at sale or refinance. Many buyers refused to purchase homes with PACE liens, and some lenders refused to approve refinances until PACE balances were cleared. California has tightened PACE consumer protection rules since 2018, but PACE products still exist in the market.
How to avoid it: confirm in writing that your financing does not involve a property tax assessment or PACE structure. Ask whether any lien will be recorded on your title. A conventional solar loan does not appear on your property record.
Trap 4: Assuming a Tax Credit That No Longer Applies
Some solar loan products still advertise a 17 to 18 month promotional period during which your payment is lower (often interest-only or a reduced amortization). That structure was originally designed around applying an ITC refund to the principal. For a system purchased in 2026, there is no federal tax credit to apply. If a salesperson's numbers assume one anyway, your loan will reset to a higher payment reflecting the full original principal once the promotional period ends, with no credit to offset it.
How to avoid it: ask directly whether the presented payback and net cost assume a federal tax credit. For a 2026 purchase the answer should be no. Get the full-principal, post-promotional payment in writing before signing.
How to Compare Solar Proposals Side by Side
Getting three solar quotes is commonly advised but rarely practiced effectively, because most homeowners compare monthly payments instead of total costs. Here is the framework to use when comparing proposals from multiple installers or lenders.
Normalize to the same system size and panel brand
A 10kW quote using Tier 1 panels is not directly comparable to a 10kW quote using lesser-known panels. Ask each installer to specify the panel brand, model, power rating, and warranted degradation rate. Compare Qcells against Qcells, or at minimum require each quote to specify panel efficiency above 20%.
Extract the total cost of each financing option, not the monthly payment
For each loan option, calculate: monthly payment times number of months. This gives you total payments. Subtract the system gross price to get total interest cost. Add back the dealer fee (if disclosed) to get total financing cost above cash purchase. This number is what you are paying for the privilege of not writing a check upfront.
Ask each installer to show their NEM assumption in the savings projection
Any proposal that does not explicitly state whether it is modeling NEM 2.0 or NEM 3.0 export rates is incomplete. For new installations in 2026, NEM 3.0 applies. Reject any projection using NEM 2.0 export credit rates for your new system.
Verify production estimates with PVWatts
Go to pvwatts.nrel.gov, enter your Temecula zip code, input the system size from each quote, and compare their production estimate to PVWatts. If an installer's estimate is more than 10% above PVWatts, ask them to explain the difference. Inflated production estimates are a common way to make savings projections look better than they are.
Confirm post-installation support terms
Panel warranties run 25 years. Workmanship warranties from the installer typically run 10 years. Monitoring contracts specify who is responsible for proactively alerting you to production drops. Ask each installer: "Who contacts me if my system underproduces by 15% for a month?" A quality installer has an active monitoring protocol; a cut-rate installer does not.
Getting a Solar Quote in Temecula: What to Expect
Temecula and the surrounding Inland Empire market have dozens of solar installers ranging from national companies with local offices to smaller regional contractors. The installation process is the same regardless of company size, but the experience, warranty backing, and financial stability of your installer matter enormously for a 25-year ownership commitment.
A quality Temecula solar quote process includes: a site assessment using satellite shading software (not just Google Maps), a 12-month SCE bill review to right-size the system, a written proposal with all financing terms disclosed (including dealer fee, APR, loan term, and total of all payments), and a production estimate you can verify against PVWatts. This process should take 1 to 2 consultations, not 4 hours of high-pressure sales tactics.
At Temecula Solar Savings, our approach is to run the real numbers for your home before recommending any financing option. We show you the cash purchase scenario, the best available loan options, and the HELOC scenario if applicable, with full cost disclosure on each. We tell you which option saves you the most money given your specific tax position, liquidity, and ownership timeline. If solar is not the right financial decision for your situation, we will tell you that too.
What We Provide at No Cost
- Satellite shading analysis for your specific roof
- 12-month SCE usage review and system right-sizing
- Full cost comparison: cash, loan, and HELOC scenarios
- Dealer fee disclosure for any loan product we offer
- NEM 3.0 projection with battery and without
- Federal and state incentive eligibility review based on your situation
- SGIP battery rebate eligibility check
To get your personalized analysis, call us at (951) 290-3014 or use our online calculator. We serve Temecula, Murrieta, Menifee, Lake Elsinore, Wildomar, and throughout Southwest Riverside County.
For additional reading on related topics, see our guides on solar payback periods in California and the case for battery storage under NEM 3.0.
Frequently Asked Questions: Solar Cash vs Financing in California
Is it better to pay cash or finance solar panels in California?
Cash produces the highest lifetime return because you avoid interest charges and dealer fees entirely. On a $30,000 system in California, a cash buyer's net cost is the full $30,000, since the federal tax credit for a purchased system ended for installations after December 31, 2025. A solar loan buyer paying 8% APR over 20 years with a 25% dealer fee finances $37,500 and pays roughly $314 a month, about $75,400 in total payments over the loan term. That said, financing makes sense when you lack the liquidity for a cash purchase, when the opportunity cost of that capital is high, or when you want to preserve cash for higher-priority uses. The right answer depends on your specific financial position, not a universal rule.
What are typical solar loan interest rates in California in 2026?
Solar loan interest rates in California in 2026 range from approximately 5.99% to 12.99% APR depending on your credit score, loan term, and the lender. Loan terms run 10, 15, or 20 years. Shorter terms carry lower rates but higher monthly payments. A borrower with a 750+ credit score can typically qualify for rates in the 6% to 8% range. Below 680, expect rates above 9% and potentially loan denial from some lenders. The advertised rate is only part of the cost equation; always ask for the dealer fee percentage, which adds 15% to 30% to your loan principal and is often not disclosed until you request it specifically.
What is a solar dealer fee and how does it affect my loan?
A dealer fee is a lender origination fee charged to the solar installer and passed to you through a higher loan principal. On a $30,000 system with a 25% dealer fee, your actual loan balance is $37,500, not $30,000, and there is no federal tax credit to reduce that balance since the residential credit ended for purchases after December 31, 2025. Some installers still present payback calculations as if a 30% credit applies, which understates your true financial exposure by the full $7,500 dealer fee plus the assumed credit. Always ask: 'What is the loan principal, not the system price?' and 'What dealer fee percentage is the lender charging?'
Can I use a HELOC to pay for solar in California?
Yes, and for many California homeowners a HELOC is one of the most cost-effective ways to finance solar. HELOC rates in 2026 typically run prime plus 0.5% to 2%, which translates to approximately 8% to 10.5% depending on your lender and credit profile. Unlike solar-specific loans, HELOCs typically carry no dealer fees, so your effective principal equals the actual system cost. The HELOC interest may also be tax-deductible if the funds are used to substantially improve your home, which solar installation qualifies as under IRS guidance. Consult a tax professional to confirm deductibility in your specific situation. The risk with a HELOC is that your home serves as collateral, so missed payments carry more severe consequences than a defaulted unsecured loan.
How does the federal tax credit apply differently to cash vs loan buyers in 2026?
It does not apply to either one. Cash and loan buyers who purchase a system in 2026 get no federal tax credit at all: the Section 25D residential credit ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025 under the One Big Beautiful Bill Act. This applies equally regardless of how you pay, cash or loan. The only route that still carries the value of the federal credit is a lease or Power Purchase Agreement, where the solar company claims the Section 48E commercial credit and passes some of that value through in your monthly rate. That credit covers only systems placed in service by December 31, 2027 for projects that begin construction after July 4, 2026.
Does NEM 3.0 change which financing option makes more sense?
NEM 3.0 extends payback periods for all financing options because export credits are lower than under NEM 2.0. This has a compounding effect on financed systems: if your annual savings drop from $3,800 to $2,400 because you are under NEM 3.0, and you are also paying $2,100 per year in loan interest, your net Year 1 benefit from a financed system is only $300. A cash purchase under NEM 3.0 still produces positive savings from day one, even if the payback period is longer. For NEM 3.0 customers considering financing, adding battery storage materially improves the financial case by increasing self-consumption and reducing grid purchases during peak SCE pricing windows, though a purchased battery in 2026 carries no federal tax credit of its own.
What is a solar lease and how does it differ from a PPA?
A solar lease means you pay a fixed monthly fee to use the solar equipment, regardless of how much electricity it produces. A Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) means you pay a per-kilowatt-hour rate for the electricity the system generates, which varies with production. Both structures mean you do not own the equipment, cannot claim the 30% ITC, and are committed to a 20 to 25 year agreement. Leases and PPAs can transfer with a home sale, but they require buyer approval and can complicate or delay closings. Neither option produces a traditional payback period because you are perpetually paying for energy use rather than paying off an asset. In most scenarios, a cash buyer or loan buyer accumulates more total savings over 25 years than a lease or PPA customer, though leases offer lower day-one cost risk.
What questions should I ask before signing any solar financing agreement?
Ask these seven questions before signing: (1) What is the actual loan principal, not the system invoice price? (2) What dealer fee percentage is being charged, and is it included in that principal? (3) What is the APR, and does it change after any promotional period? (4) Is there a prepayment penalty if I pay off the loan early? (5) What happens to my loan if I sell the home before the loan is paid off? (6) If this is a PACE or HERO lien, does it appear on my title and affect my mortgage? (7) Does the quoted payback or net cost assume a federal tax credit, and if so, confirm that a 2026 purchase does not qualify for one. Any installer or lender who cannot answer these questions clearly should not receive your signature.
Get Your Personalized Cash vs Financing Comparison
Every number in this guide reflects real Temecula market conditions, but the right financing decision depends on your specific SCE bills, tax position, credit score, and ownership plans. Use our calculator or call for a side-by-side analysis of every payment option for your home.
Free analysis. No commitment required.